What is the Difference Between the Public Service Commission and the Division of Public Utilities?

Public Service Commission (Commission or PSC):
The Commission is vested with power and jurisdiction to supervise and regulate every public utility in this state, and to supervise all of the business of every such public utility in this state, and to do all things, whether herein specifically designated or in addition thereto, which are necessary or convenient in the exercise of such power and jurisdiction.

For a more comprehensive review of the Public Service Commission’s duties, please see Title 54-4-1 of the Utah Code.

Division of Public Utilities (Division or DPU):
The Division makes recommendations to the Utah Public Service Commission for rate-making purposes, applications, hearings, and other issues affecting quality of service. The Division also handles and investigates consumer complaints and monitors utility operations to ensure compliance with Public Service Commission rules, regulations, and orders.

For a more comprehensive review of the Division of Public Utilities duties, please see Title 54-4a-6 of the Utah Code.

Regulated Utilities:
The Utah Public Service Commission has jurisdiction over investor owned and cooperative owned public utilities, Utah Code Title 54-2-1(22)(a) defines a public utility to include "every railroad corporation, gas corporation, electrical corporation, distribution electrical cooperative, wholesale electrical cooperative, telephone corporation, telegraph corporation, water corporation, sewerage corporation, heat corporation, and independent energy producer not described . . . where the service is performed for, or the commodity delivered to, the public generally." The term corporation "does not include towns, cities, counties, conservancy districts, improvement districts, or other governmental units created or organized under any general or special law of this state." The Commission is also responsible for the safety regulation of intrastate natural gas pipelines. This includes pipelines owned by regulated utilities, municipal gas systems, small gas operators (master meter systems), and liquid propane gas systems.